By Joviland Rita, April 27, 2022; GMA News

President Rodrigo Duterte has approved the creation of the Metropolitan Davao Development Authority (MDDA), acting presidential spokesperson Martin Andanar said Wednesday.

At the Palace briefing, Andanar said  Duterte signed Republic Act No. 11708 or the Metropolitan Davao Development Authority Act.

The MDDA will work on development planning, transport management, waste disposal, flood control, urban renewal, zoning, land use, among others in 15 local government units in the region or “Metropolitan Davao.”

These include the following cities and towns:

  • Panabo, Tagum, and the Island Garden City of Samal in Davao del Norte;
  • Davao and Digos City in Davao del Sur;
  • Mati City in Davao Oriental;
  • Sta. Cruz, Hagonoy, Padada, Malalag, and Sulop towns in Davao del Sur;
  • Carmen town in Davao del Norte;
  • Maco town in Davao de Oro;
  • Malita and Sta. Maria towns in Davao Occidental.

An MDDA council will be formed which will govern and make policies for the concerned LGUs.

It will be composed of the chairperson of the Regional Development Council, the governors of the provinces of Davao Oriental, Davao de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, and Davao Occidental, and the 15 mayors of the cities and municipalities concerned.

The chief executives of the 15 LGUs would be considered ex officio members.

Its chairperson will be appointed by the president from a selection of nominees submitted by the council. The chairperson will serve for a term of three years.