By Bernadette D. Nicolas, May 24 2019; Business Mirror

Image Credit to Manila Bulletin

President Duterte signed a new law renaming Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro.

Under Republic Act 11297 signed by the President on April 17, the renaming shall be subjected to ratification in a plebiscite in Compostela Valley.

The Commission on Elections shall also conduct and supervise the plebiscite in compliance with the Local Government Code of 1991.

Five provinces constitute the Davao region namely Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur and Davao Occidental. The region is also known as the President’s political bailiwick.

On April 10, Sen. Sonny Angara said in a news statement that Davao de Oro is a fitting name for the province, since it is home to the largest gold deposits in the country, with 10 out of its 11 towns having one or more gold mines each.

In Spanish and Italian, Oro means gold.

The law will take effect 15 days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in any newspaper of general circulation.

The law passed by the House of Representatives on May 15 last year and was amended by the the Senate on December 10, 2018.  On January 29, amendments were concurred in by House of Representatives.